ST1E - Latest Card-Reviews on openCards | openCards

You are here

ST1E - Latest Card-Reviews on openCards

Welcome to the overview of the latest ST1E Card-Reviews

You will find the latest 15 Card-Reviews here (order desc by publishing date).

imageKazon Fruit Bowl

This !type article was written by Daniel Matteson and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 8th, 2018.

TG

All right, I'll admit something. I've made no secret of the fact that Deep Space Nine has been my favorite Star Trek series. However, when it comes to Voyager, despite having a few more issues with the series, I find I have a soft spot for the other Trek series I grew up with. Despite the relative power level of cards set in this series, there really is still a lot of creative space to be mined from the show. With that said, I've had a 'hit list' of cards from Voyager I've wanted to see added to First Edition, and I've been pretty vocal about my top three over the last few years:

  1.  Michael Jonas. This was a guy who appeared in six episodes, as a Maquis-turned-Starfleet officer that betrayed both his crews by giving information to the Kazon and sabotaging Voyager in the process, before getting killed by... um... Neelix. OK, forget that part. This was a fairly major early arc and the fact that Jonas never had a card made seems a glaring omission.
  2.  Rain Robinson. I enjoyed the "Future's End" two parter and hoped to one day see a personnel card of this early Sarah Silverman role, or even a boutique set to cover the episode as a whole. How about one more past Earth time location?
  3.  Seska - that is, a second version of Seska. This nefarious character really ran the gamut of shifting loyalties, from Cardassian to Maquis to Federation to Kazon. The original Seska is a dual-affiliation Cardassian/Kazon personnel, but a new persona could have so many different looks. Could there be a Federation/Non-Aligned? A Maquis icon? An infiltrator?

Well, we did get one of these cards in The Gift, though not exactly how I would have envisioned it.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageOn the Hunt

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 7th, 2018.

TG

Something I've often heard over the years is that the Hirogen don't need a ton of new toys, but they really need a second way to play people. A common request is also to provide a way for Hirogen to play without relying on the usual crew of Non-Aligned personnel. Today's card from The Gift, Hirogen Hunt: Coordinated Effort, is an intersection of those two requests, although it delivers much more on the free report than the all-Hirogen aspect.

Hirogen Hunt: Coordinated Effort, is a nice and simple event. Once it's in play (you can seed it or play it), it allows you to play a Affiliation Hirogen personnel for free as long as you meet one of two conditions; either all of your ships need to be Affiliation Hirogen, or there needs to be a Self controlled card on the spaceline. All of this appears on just over two lines, leaving room for the event to be immune to Kevin Uxbridge - so your play engine is safe. Why these particular restrictions? They capture the story of the Hirogen hunters pretty well! They work best when they work together (all Affiliation Hirogen ships), or when there is big prey (Self controlled cards) to hunt.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageThe very long queue at the Delta Quadrant Apple store

This !type article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 6th, 2018.

TG

It was around 1998 when I started visiting the Decipher website, back in the days when the internet used slow dial-up connections. In your head, you’re probably remembering the annoying noise of a 90’s modem right now…

I rarely posted on the message boards in those days. They were an alien environment to me, however they were useful for answering rules queries. So eventually such an occasion did arise and I needed a handle… but what to use? A lot of people seemed to have chosen existing cards (Mot the Barber, Major Rakal, etc), and given my name is Paddy, I was sure I could find an appropriate equipment card to use. However, I couldn’t be sure if all those existing Equipment cards had or hadn’t been taken by others. I decided the safest route was to pick a “yet to be made” equipment PADD. I mean – what could possibly go wrong? Decipher had already released Previews of Voyager logo cards, and all the major affiliations (except Borg) had all gotten certain cards – a gun, a PADD, an outpost, etc. If another affiliation was coming in a future Voyager expansion, it had to be Kazon surely… so that was that – I became "KazonPADD".

Then Voyager releases. No PADD.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageFar away from home, in need of some therapy

This !type article was written by James Monsebroten and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Jun 14th, 2018.

MMP

When Metamorphosis released there were some obvious cards for Delta Quadrant fans. The new time location and related cards (Holoprogram: The Voyager Encounter, revised hologorams, their downloads, Curator Quarren), and Marie Kaplan. But there was at least one other card that is extremely useful in a Delta Quadrant deck; Group Therapy.

Group Therapy got introduced in the article The Jack Pack Inside Track in which Jack and his buddies were introduced. It was mentioned at the end of the article that the card helped address a need to get access to the Jack Pack, but does so much more.

Let's take a look at how it works:

Seeds or plays on your headquarters, outpost or site.
This means it can be used in any deck that has one such location. For Delta Quadrant players that's any of the outposts available in that quadrant: Hirogen Outpost, Kazon Outpost, Vidiian Outpost, or Nekrit Supply Depot.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageCurator Quarren

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Apr 27th, 2018.

MMP

Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce you to Curator Quarren.

Quarren is a male Non-Aligned Kyrian from the 31st century, and curates the Museum of Kyrian Heritage. He's a trained archeologist with significant experience in field work, with both the SCIENCE-classification and Archaeology x2. His special skill, allowing cards to be special downloaded from the discard pile, represents his talent for historical study. From his work with the Voyager Encounter Holoprogram, we know he is a gifted holoprogrammer; his Computer Skill x2 and download of Holo-Projectors demonstrates this talent. Honorable, intelligent, but aging, he has the respectable attributes of 8 INTEGRITY, 8 CUNNING, and 4 STRENGTH.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageThe Doctor's Fake News

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Apr 23rd, 2018.

MMP

One of the most common questions I've seen since the start of Metamorphosis is "why so many new cards?" Well, the answer to that question is deeply tied to what you'll be seeing today: the "Revised Voyager" personnel. These futuristic revisions of the crew of Voyager were always in the file, as the team knew that they were a popular conversion request. But for the first several versions of the file, it was just the Revised personnel with nothing else.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageUnder Pressure

This !type article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Apr 18th, 2018.

TtlG

"I've never trusted 2E cards, and I never will. I've never been able to forgive them for the death of my boy."

While I personally may not like using 2EBC cards, I have always been able to appreciate when they can do something useful and different in 1E.

I first encountered Psychological Pressure back in 2015 at Aberdeen Anarchy. Stefan de Walf used it in a Hirogen deck - he captured personnel that matched his dilemmas and forced me to discard cards to overcome them. Combined with using Temporal Shifting offensively (the days before Quantum Incursions and Enterprise Block, so easier to get this to hit), the strategy effectively locked me out of my missions. I'd been well and truly punished, but I really admired the clever way in which he'd done it!

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageThat's a Stupid Question!

This !type article was written by Daniel Matteson and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Apr 16th, 2018.

MMP

Recently I had a conversation with someone on the First Edition design team. I was looking forward to the upcoming First Edition expansion release and excited to finally have the chance to write a preview article. However, there was a bit of friction during my conversation. It went a little something like this:

Me: I'm writing my first preview article during the first preview week for Metamorphosis! What card can you give me to spoil?

Them: That's a stupid question!

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageDistant Control

This !type article was written by James Heaney and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Jan 9th, 2018.

CF

CORRECTION 26 March 2018: This article originally misstated the way Empathy personnel are targeted by dilemmas when using this card. With new guidance from the Rules Committee, the article has been updated.

Back before the war with Earth and the establishment of the Neutral Zone, the Romulan Star Empire was remarkably insular. With their territory fortified by minefields, their ships lurking under cloak, and their few external agents acting as deep-cover spies, the Romulans of those days were content to achieve their goals by manipulating the quadrant from the comfort of their home territory.

One of the best reveals in all of Star Trek was the stunning moment at the end of "Babel One" when Trip and Malcolm broke onto the bridge of Raptor One only to find it empty... and then the viewers realized that the Romulan command center that we'd taken for the ship's bridge was actually a dozen light-years away, remotely controlling the ship from Romulus itself!

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageEzri Dax

This !type article was written by Michael Moskop and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Jan 5th, 2018.

CF

"The day she realizes she's more than just the sum of her parts, she's really going to be something." – Sarina Douglas

In order to explain the genesis of today’s card we have to dial back the clock. Cue a Wayne and Garth doodley-do flashback to August 18, 2013. I had just been crowned Coolest deck for the 2013 Gencon Cool tournament and I win another opportunity to design a card. (Click here if you want to read about my previous Design-A-Card prize. You might notice a theme.) After a lot of thought, I decided to dig into my files and find an old card that I had created just for fun years prior. Yea, I know it might be weird to keep a Word file full of card ideas that pop into my head, but when an idea strikes, you have to write it down. When I started digging, I actually knew what I was looking for. One of my favorite characters as well as one of my favorite episodes had neither really been fleshed out in First Edition, so I knew exactly what card to submit.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageYes, I Am Serious

This !type article was written by Dan Hamman and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Jan 1st, 2018.

CF

Here's to the Next Generation."
- Archer, during a toast with Trip

Love or hate the source material, the last expansion in the 22nd century block was the best time to make a personnel card that has been asked about for a long time. Chef was unveiled via social media at the set's announcement without any explanation of his special skill. Today's revealed card is the companion that facilitates his deckbuild. These Are The Voyages is a new Warp Core card that enables the crew of the Enterprise to help out Riker and the Federation in the "modern" 24th century era. It can be played from hand, or more likely, downloaded in the seed phase with Continuing Mission.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageThe 24 (or so) People You'll Meet in the Nekrit Expanse

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 30th, 2017.

WP-H17

I talked yesterday about wanting to make sure that the Warp Pack: Holiday 2017 offerings had some tools for Delta Quadrant decks. Well, aside from a Vidiian/Federation and a Hirogen personnel, there's one more: Karyn Berlin. She isn't much to look at, really: a Affiliation Non-Aligned support personnel, with a Delta Quadrant icon, SECURITY-classification, Law, Diplomacy, and average attributes. So why did she claim a slot in this 9-card boutique product?

Well... I only partially remember. We were testing another expansion - it might have been The Terran Empire, but it also might not have come out yet, and there was some concerned tester feedback that a few of the recent dilemmas were really hard to pass for Delta Quadrant decks. Specifically, they were in need of Law and, in particular, more females. So really, the most important word I used to describe this new card was the first one: "She."

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageI'm Hunting Wabbits

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 29th, 2017.

WP-H17

One of the things Cristoffer (former 1E Brand Manger Cristoffer "Smiley" Wikker) wanted to make sure happened in the Warp Pack: Holiday 2017 was that we supported some Delta Quadrant decks. We knew that we hadn't given fans of the Delta Quadrant much since the start of the block era, and as this was a non-block project, it seemed like a good time to give Delta Quadrant fans some love. If you follow us on Facebook, you've already seen Dr. Pel, a new Federation / Vidiian personnel (she'll be revealed Friday here). Today, let me show you Mellis, the Hirogen entry in this boutique product.

I didn't really have an idea for a Hirogen card when designing this Warp Pack. There were specific decks I wanted to help for Bajorans, Borg, Klingons, etc. but nothing for Hirogen. So I started putting together Hirogen decks, talking to Hirogen players, and just browsing through their cards. It was during a perusal of the database that I found Hunting Group. "What a cool card," I thought to myself. Color me surprised when I saw the "Recent decks using this card: None" text on the bottom of the card page. Of course, it didn't take long to figure out why: this card was expensive. It gives you nice mission requirements and access to almost every space mission in the game, but at the cost of a card play or a seed slot, it was too much.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageDid You Remember Where We Parked?

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 28th, 2017.

WP-H17

As you have seen, most of the cards you'll find in Warp Pack: Holiday 2017 are based around an old school, non-block deck. However, that isn't true of all of the cards. Today's preview card, President ">Hiram Roth, originally served that purpose but he evolved into a solid support personnel with a place in a number of different Affiliation Federation decks.

Mr. President here originally had the game text of HQ: Executive Orders, although in a much shorter amount of text. He was fetchable with Going To The Top (as he had - and still has - Leadership x2) and, as president, could play for free to Office of the President. Unfortunately, the shorthand gametext he was using to represent the "Executive Orders" ability wouldn't work, so we either had to kill the card or find another solution.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

imageA Little Bit of This, and That, and That...

This !type article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 27th, 2017.

WP-H17

As I've mentioned before, one of the ideas behind Warp Pack: Holiday 2017 was to make some cards that revived or referenced older decks. One of the decks that was on the list was the traditional "Mega-Federation" deck, using the best personnel from all of the Federation flavors together. That type of deck never really went away, but it did get pushed to the side as The Continuing Committee carved up the Federation into TNG and Deep Space Nine Logo specific flavors.

Today's spoiler is a card that looks to give the "sampler platter" a nice revival. HQ: Executive Orders is an incident that either seeds or plays on your headquarters (which are another component of decks that have fallen off in use.) It gives you a card draw each turn, if you play a personnel with a property logo you don't already have in play. As mentioned, it can be a seed card, or it will play for free on your headquarters out of your draw deck. You can download it (in dire straits) with Defend Homeworld, and you can also download it with... well, you'll see that card tomorrow.

See the rest of this Card-Review...

Want more? Search our comprehensive Card-Review database by different criterias for a particular article OR visit the latest published Card-Reviews on openCards.