ST1E - Latest Card-Reviews on openCards | openCards

You are here

ST1E - Latest Card-Reviews on openCards

Welcome to the overview of the latest ST1E Card-Reviews

You will find the latest 15 Card-Reviews here (order desc by publishing date).

imageMake Me Laugh!

This Card-Review article was written by Kaufman and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 30th, 2017.

2007.

The European Union grows, France created the fastest ground train, Live Earth has concerts in nine major cities, the spacecraft Phoenix is launched towards Mars, Aubrey Anderson-Emmons is born, and Decipher releases the final physical product for Second Edition, What You Leave Behind.

Thought to be the final product, they threw everything into this set. Heck, it even had Gatherers stuff, which was in the first set and nothing since. It also had Stewart Rivers, played by Seth MacFarlane. Not having opportunities afforded in First Edition for Easter Eggs, it nonetheless included a rare in-joke with "A Family Guy" appearing on the three lines of lore.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageThe Genius of Dan Hamman

This Card-Review article was written by Kaufman and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 29th, 2017.

Let’s talk about the genius of Dan Hamman for a second. Gifted designer doesn’t come even close to describing him. You can catch a glimpse of his brilliance not only in Broken Bow, but in The Terran Empire as well.

Nowhere is his foresight more evident than in the design of the MACOs. There were so many directions he could have gone with them. There’s the lore solution that we have now, but they could also have the skill or even the icon courtesy of the mission patch.

At first glance, the icon seems ideal. It takes up very little real estate, making it easy to reference on cards. It has a distinct shape, meaning that it won’t be confused with other icons despite the small size it has to have in gametext, and things look good.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageA Brief History of Time Travel

This Card-Review article was written by Matthew Zinno and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 28th, 2017.

For years, time travel in ST:CCG has been easy. Too easy. All it takes is a {Temporal Vortex} to allow any time travel you want while it's in play on your time location. It has a countdown of 3, except it really doesn't. With Temporal Vortex sporting a [Ref] icon, it can be rather freely obtained from your deck or even your discard pile, and can be cycled away (for later re-retrieval) before its countdown expires.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageAttention!

This Card-Review article was written by Niall Matthew and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 27th, 2017.

In the latest expansion for First Edition, we focused on two themes for Starfleet. The first theme is charting the unknown with Explore New World, a card which encapsulates the idea that Archer and co.03 are not quite ready for what's out there, and have to learn from their mistakes (translated to card form via downloading equipment after being stopped). The second theme takes up a lot more card slots in the set.

Now, you get to experience the rapid deployment and reinforcing mechanics of the MACO. So let's get started by looking at today's spoilers.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageRegeneration

This Card-Review article was written by Niall Matthew and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 26th, 2017.

We crammed everything buSee the rest of this card_review...



imageDial D for Dilemmas!

This Card-Review article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 25th, 2017.

"Do you think a cup holder's too much?"

While the new "Botany Bay" icon [BB] dilemmas will inevitably get a lot of attention as part of the Broken Bow release, there are a few other contenders in the dilemma line-up that are worth some reflection too...

Dilemmas are a particular favourite of mine to design - {Jol Yichu!} from Star Trek 50 was one such dilemma which I'm very happy to see getting used and shaking up the meta. And for Broken Bow we wanted to add a few more unusual dilemmas to give the meta a good kick up the backside.

I'm a bit different in my approach to design, given my Creative Team background. I tend to draw inspiration from specific events in the episodes or movies, and build the gametext around that, while many other designers start with the gametext and it's down to Creative to tie the gametext back to a Trek-based situation.

One episode of Enterprise that was crying out for a dilemma was "Singularity" - where the crew of Enterprise exhibit unusual obsessive behaviour after exposure to a black hole as part of a trinary system. This seemed like a classic "dilemma episode" to me - where the plot has often been boiled down in 1E to be largely represented by a single dilemma - for example {Barclays Protomorphosis Disease}, {Horta}, {The Cloud}, etc.

The concept of "Singularity" is that the radiation emanating from a combination of a trinary star system and a black hole results in the crew of Enterprise becoming obsessed with small tasks, from fixing the Captain's chair, to developing battle preparation procedures or just cooking that perfect meal. So how does this become a dilemma? Most dilemmas are designed to kill, stop or filter - and the most fitting application here was a filter. But rather than stopping X people in a mission attempt, it instead "focuses" the skills on all personnel in the attempt: doubling the first and second listed skills, but losing any skills thereafter - and Preoccupied was born.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageAn Archer, By Any Other Name

This Card-Review article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 24th, 2017.

”You are in contempt of this tribunal. Since you have such admiration for the prisoner, you will join him on Rura Penthe for a period of one year. Remove them both.”

It had already been teased on {Operate Dilithium Gulag}, and now we have a personnel with “Prisoner” in the title. Prisoner Archer isn’t the first “off-color” personnel we’ve seen over the years – and he’s in good company with two other Starfleet captains (so far) also appearing as Klingon affiliation. Many of these off-color affiliated personnel have caused debates over the years – was Data ever affiliated enough to the Collective to warrant a “Data of Borg” being made? Is it justified by 0.68 seconds of temptation? I’m sure the preview card of Centurion Kirk has no doubt caused similar debate (am I allowed to talk about that yet? Oh well, too late!). In the case of Prisoner Archer, his “affiliation” to the Klingons was represented by the honorable, high integrity actions with which Kolos defended him at his trial (saving Klaang for example) as well as his brief stint as a laborer at Rura Penthe.

The main benefit of this version of Archer, other than adding “star power” to the 22nd century Klingons (they already have a Klingon Phlox after all), is to kick-start the draw mechanic on Operate Dilithium Gulag. While you can spend the game acquiring captives for point based bonuses, either getting to an opponent to grab a captive or waiting for an opponent to hit a capture dilemma before getting a capture-based draw engine running is just too slow a tactic in the modern game, and would likely see a capture-based deck massively outpaced by a speed solver. Prisoner Archer is designed to bridge this gap.

Today’s other new cards, {Skalaar} (with his download of {Captured} - plus a SECURITY-downloadable Captain for anyone looking to make use of {Taking Charge}) and {Prosecutor Orak} (with his download of {Internment}) are designed to further complement the Klingon capture strategy, so you can pick up additional captives and send them to Rura Penthe.

With these last pieces of the puzzle in place, we provide below an example 22nd century Klingon deck – feel free to add more personnel as they get revealed!

by Prisoner Paddy, Broken Bow designer and In Contempt

See the rest of this card_review...

imageBotany Bay? Botany Bay?!

This Card-Review article was written by openCards user MidnightLich and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 23rd, 2017.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageNobody Expects the Klingon Inquisition!

This Card-Review article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 21st, 2017.

Surely I don't need to remind the Magistrate, the judicial charter of Koloth states an advocate is entitled to challenge the charges at any point during the tribunal. To my knowledge, that charter has not been cast aside. From the time of Kahless, our courts have stood as a forum where justice is dispensed with honor.

Klingons in the 22nd and 23rd centuries weren’t quite the honorable warriors we know them as today. After 11 seasons of Worf worrying about duty and honor, we forget about the Klingon’s less noble past as the biggest bullies in the known galaxy. We saw this behaviour throughout Enterprise, from deuterium protection rackets (Marauders), to threatening less developed space-going vessels (Unexpected), as well as annexing alien species and suppressing acts of rebellion (Judgment). And that doesn’t even cover building a giant space wall to keep the Romulans out.

In designing the 22nd century Klingons, we didn’t just want to build this around Treachery. For one, it had been done before (Illegitimate Leader of the Empire decks) and also not all the Klingons we saw in the 22nd century fitted with that stereotype – Klaang, Kolos, Bu’kaH, Antaak, etc. Instead we focused on capturing mechanics – a theme more commonly associated with Cardassian or Romulan decks, but historically these had been more complex strategies and not always complementary to solving missions (necessary to win the game), nor have they been particularly easy for newer or less experienced players to use.

Today’s trio of cards build upon the Gulag cards from yesterday, which already can provide your 22nd century Klingons with card draws, boosted mission points and improved RANGE.

Hall of Magistrates represents a new Time Location, better suited to non-Augment 22nd century Klingons. While you can use both Time Locations (Hall of Magistrates and {Augment Research Facility}), the low quantity of available Augment personnel should make this less attractive – and given the additional costs to move between locations (ie seeding {UFP: One Small Step} or using additional Time Travel cards and RANGE) playtesting showed us that an intermittent third free report (assuming you are using Protect the Timeline) is of marginal benefit – broadly equivalent to using a Headquarters, {Attention All Hands}, and {Legitimate Leader of the Empire}/{Illegitimate Leader of the Empire} in a TNG deck.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageKnown Throughout the Galaxy as the Alien’s Graveyard

This Card-Review article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 20th, 2017.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageLike Peas in a Shuttlepod

This Card-Review article was written by Paddy Tye and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Mar 19th, 2017.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageHail to the Dictator

This Card-Review article was written by Ross Fertel and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 22nd, 2016.

So, we know that we’re getting a new affiliation in 2017. We won’t have flying cars, we won’t have intergalactic empire and we won’t have more hours of Star Wars than Star Trek, but we will have the first new affiliation added to the game in the Continuing Committee era. (Editors Note: actually, I don't think that was revealed yet. But alright.)

Technically that statement is true, we haven't seen an actual new color pallet on a personnel in the CC era. But from another frame of mind, the first real new faction is here now with The Terran Empire. Yes, they are the same Starfleet blue that we’ve had for just over a decade, but those have no cards in the mirror universe and are explicitly forbidden from reporting to the HQ. There is one guy, er Gorn, there, but he’s non-aligned. They have their day in the sun, they’ll probably never get another big piece of the pie and they should probably get a pretty good weapon in the arsenal to make up for everything. Let’s face it, not only are they hundreds of years in the past, necessitating time travel, but their ships are, well, hundreds of years old with attributes to match.

And they do have a nice tool to play with. The Jedi Tests, sorry Emperor Tests (Editor's Note: The Emperor's Tests, as Rossman calls them, are a series of Objectives, discussed in tomorrow's article; only one of which is revealed as of today), are a definite highlight of the expansion. Once complete, you have forty points, not a bad chunk of change. In addition, they supply you with have a good draw engine. The requirements are pretty much what you’re going to do anyway. Move your ship, solve a mission, win a battle, kill a captain… Okay, maybe not exactly what you’re intending, but certainly not outside the realm of possibilities. You could probably add them into your deck without too much trouble.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageConversions: An Analysis - Mirror Phlox

This Card-Review article was written by James Cream and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 21st, 2016.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageOne Giant Leap Across The Spaceline

This Card-Review article was written by Mark and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 20th, 2016.

See the rest of this card_review...

imageThe Right of Mankind

This Card-Review article was written by a anonymous person and was published first on "The Continuing Committee (trekcc.org)" at Nov 19th, 2016.

See the rest of this card_review...

Want more? Search our comprehensive Card-Review database by different criterias for a particular article OR return to main Card-Review page.